The charity shop plug

Charity shops are quite possibly the best idea the world ever came up with.

Good quality + cheap = giving to a good cause.

What’s not to love? There’s nothing better than a Saturday afternoon mooching around the shops, heading into every charity shop in the vicinity, and exiting with a great little gem of an item that cost you £3. Not only do you get that little buzz inside of finding that brilliant scarlet beret or that pearly bracelet, but you are helping people less fortunate than yourself, and you still have change in your purse to head into Starbucks, buy a strawberries and cream frappuccino and plonk yourself down to have a good look at all of your great (and fantastically cheap) little buys.

I was in Cancer Research just last week when I found a beautiful blue, green and white flowery scarf – perfect for summer and only £2. I couldn’t believe my luck! I must have worn it at least 10 times since (mainly as a headscarf) and I still get a little buzz each time I wear it, as, like all of my favourite pieces, I was happy when I bought it and I knew that I was giving to something greater – research to help beat cancer. Just think, if people stopped this pathetic idea of not being seen dead in charity shops, we could all find something great, and cheap – and save lives in the process.

Scarf, £2 from Cancer Research Simple really.

Another thing charity shops have to offer, is that as everything is so cheap, you don’t feel bad about taking your clothes home and cutting them up or making them into something else! Buying cheaply gives us all a chance to be creative and make something unique to us. Style is all about creativeness, and having the confidence to try something a bit different. But most of all, it’s about having fun with your clothes and not worrying about what other people think. So i urge everyone to head down to their local charity shop and have a little look around – you never know what you might find.

Finally, thank you to Dionne Warwick for my song of the summer:

“Do you know the way to San Jose” – the soundtrack to this post.

2 thoughts on “The charity shop plug

  1. What a fantastic gem of a blog I have just stumbled upon!
    I will keep a close eye on your advise.
    Much love xxxx

Comments are closed.