The niche market of menswear

Menswear, womenswear. Very different, but both very important. We know enough about women’s fashion to last us a life-time – with the amount of glossy magazines available dedicated solely to women’s fashion. With men it is less so, and I honestly can’t name a single magazine about men’s fashion. That’s how bad it has got. I think the reason why fashion is often related more to women than men is not because men aren’t bothered about style or because they can’t dress themselves properly – it’s more to do with the fact that there aren’t any major outlets for men to read and learn about fashion, or even to watch! Think about the tv programmes that revolve around women’s style: What not to wear, Gok’s fashion fix, America’s next top model. It’s ok for people like Alexander Wang, Henry Holland and Christopher Kane, but less so for Joe Bloggs on the street, wondering what to wear at the weekend. I read a brilliant little bit in Wednesday’s Fashion pull-out in the Times from a man they had styled. They were asking him questions about men’s fashion, and when asked if he thought there was as much pressure on men as women to look good he replied that “Men want to look fashionable these days, but most don’t know how to do it”. Which is so true. He also said that the “Social uniform that so many guys wear: G-Star jeans, Diesel trainers and trendy t-shirt” really winds him up as it has no individuality. I tip my hat to him for saying “I don’t think anyone would necessarily look at me and say that I’ve got style, but at least I find my clothes from more interesting sources”. What a statement. What an honest guy. And he’s right.

I have seen menswear specials occasionally appearing in The Times – but apart from that I don’t often see men’s fashion apart from what I see out and about on the street – and some of this could hardly be considered fashion; more like the uniform dressing of jeans, trainers and Superdry t-shirt. These people have no individuality, and I have seen it many a time at past school non-uniform days. Enough Abercrombie and Superdry that everyone wearing it might as well have worn school uniform they all look the same. The few of us that express our individuality in our clothes get funny looks which make us  feel both uncomfortable all day and wonder why so many people are shallow enough to think we are weird because we are doing our own thing.

For men wanting to read up on this seasons styles and menswear then I recommend reading The Times on a Wednesday as their fashion pullout has a double page spread dedicated entirely to menswear, as do their Saturday ‘Magazine’ and Sunday Times ‘Style’ magazine. The web is the best place to find up to the minute info on men’s clothing and I particularly recommend any male readers to take a look at the ‘Street Etiquette’ blog which you’ll find on my blogroll on the right. Two men from New York expressing themselves on their blog in words and photos about their outfits. They are rather inspiring.

2 thoughts on “The niche market of menswear

  1. Good Article. I think some of the problem is down to accessibility. For example a men’s magazine might show some classic styles, but when did you see that replicated in your average high street store? Sure many stores do suit ranges but when was the last time you saw an interestingly styled male manachin in a shop window?

Comments are closed.