The little gem: Kitt’s Couture

As much as I love Cornwall, the lack of vintage shops in the county is a bit of a let down. So you can imagine my delight when I can peruse one of the few that exist down in this beautiful part of the country. I am speaking of Kitt’s Couture – a cosy little vintage shop hiding away on a little street off the main road in Penzance. If you’re not familiar with Cornwall, you might have come across Penzance as it is the most westerly train station in England, and holiday-makers from London will venture down to the west-country on the Paddington to Penzance line.

Kitt’s Couture is what I would describe as a ‘proper’ vintage shop. It’s not just a glorified charity shop, it’s a beautiful collection of clothes, hats, shoes and other accessories from the 30s, 40s, 50s and 60s. Complete with old-fashioned mannequins, and posters and adverts from times gone by – you would expect the items within to be very highly priced, and though some of the dresses and coats are verging on the £60 mark, there are some lovely pieces in great condition and of good quality for quite reasonable prices. For instance, I tried on a wonderful black woollen cape (as they are back in for Autumn/Winter) and although it was unfortunately a little too big on the shoulders, it was still at a fantastic price at only £28. Do have a look around the site which is http://www.kittscouture.co.uk/ and if you ever get the chance to visit, it is well worth a look.

You really do feel like you have stepped back in time. I wish I could linger there.

