Sophisticated ladies

With such workwear-inspired A/W collections fresh off the catwalk, i couldn’t leave them all to waste and not talk about them, as now is the time to refresh your work wardrobe for the coming months. I’m really pleased that this season’s workwear is catering for different shapes and personalities – ranging from leather skirts to wide leg trousers. Both equally wearable, both superbly different.

Many designers seem to have used versatile workwear as their focal point for their A/W collections. Take, for example, Chloé. I know I have been banging on about Chloé all summer, but the designs really are something.

Simple, elegant and powerful.

Chloé A/W 2010

Chloé A/W 2010

Chloé A/W 2010

Chloé A/W 2010

Chloé A/W 2010

Chloé A/W 2010

Chloé A/W 2010

Chloé A/W 2010

See?!

Céline has also gone a little way down the workwear route, but in a much more understated way. See what you think…

Céline A/W 2010

Céline A/W 2010

Céline A/W 2010

Céline A/W 2010

Céline A/W 2010

Céline A/W 2010

I hope this post will inspire the career ladies of the world to opt out of the typical black skirt, jacket and heels option for winter and go for something powerful and classy. For high-street alternatives to the beautiful (but scarily expensive) designer versions shown here, then Next has some lovely pieces including tailored trousers, bags, blazers and knits to suit all figures and personalities. A pair of leather gloves are a must for this season, as are loafers and skinny belts, and camel, grey and navy are in vogue. Remember, practicality is the key.

All images via Elle UK

2 thoughts on “Sophisticated ladies

  1. An excellent post, some wonderful pieces there and they have greatly inspired me to try something different this season, as opposed to the usual suit combo. I shall definitely be investing in a pair of leather gloves upon your advice. Thank you.

  2. Hannah MacGibbon seems to have outdone herself this season.. Great color palette, great tailoring, desirable clothes – perfect! A very laidback but chic aesthetic.
    However I have to admit, I think I preferred the last Celine collection more than the current one.
    I noticed a few posts ago that you mentioned a lack of hats around -I can assure you I’m wearing plenty of them!

    http://clothescamerasandcoffee.blogspot.com/

Comments are closed.