The winter jacket dilemma

It’s now getting to that time of year when leaves start falling, the central heating’s turned on, and a jacket/coat is essential to every outfit simply for the necessity of keeping warm. This season’s catwalk has boasted at least three major outer-wear trends, these including: the cape, the trench the leather/sheepskin aviator and the fur coat. I am a big fan of all four of these pieces, but it’s not in my power to go out and buy them all off the high street, let alone the designer versions! This said, I have been deliberating as to which to buy as my statement outer jacket/coat for winter.

Let’s start with the cape. As you may have read, this summer I acquired a wonderful black, full length ’40s cape from a vintage boutique. I am delighted to tell you that the cape in question had its first outing yesterday. Last night I went dancing, but it was cold and windy so I wanted something warm, with layers I could take off and put on when required. I went for black tights and my black leather Fly boots, with a red ’60s style dress over a black rollneck sweater. Add to that a some bright red lips and a matching beret, and with my cape on top I was good to go! I got quite a few funny looks, and I reckon some people thought I was in fancy dress. However, I did receive some lovely comments on my outfit, especially the cape! Taking all this into account, I just can’t justify buying another cape (if I were to it would be the Ultimate Cape in camel from Topshop).

Ultimate Military Cape

Ultimate Military Cape, £95 Topshop

Next, the trench. I LOVE trench coats. But I already own two, both black, and, again, I shouldn’t spend £80 on a camel/green/blue/red/grey trench when I can easily make do with the two lovely trenches I already own. Now that would be being frivolous on my part. I really like the black leather and sheepskin aviators, and although I already have a brown leather jacket, I wouldn’t want to customise it into a sheepskin (and anyway it’s brown not black) so I think I might have to but myself the H&M version for £24.99 which seems pretty reasonable (although it isn’t real leather, or sheepskin for that matter!) Not all of us can wear the Burberry Prorsum versions, and anyway, they were probably sold out about three months ago!

Imitation leather aviator jacket

Imitation leather aviator jacket, £24.99 H&M

This brings me to the (faux) fur coat. I don’t own a fur coat and never have. But I intend to own one very soon. I have seen quite a few versions in New Look, Topshop, River Island, Zara etc but I’m not sure which to go for yet. I was considering hunting out a vintage fur but I don’t fancy wearing anything moth-eaten so I might just stick to a high-street version. I’ll see what I can find. Also, if anybody has seen any fur coats that they think are particularly great, then please comment and insert the link as I am open to suggestions!

Leopard print faux fur coat

Leopard print faux fur coat, £39.99 New Look

Images copyrighted to Topshop, New Look and H&M

4 thoughts on “The winter jacket dilemma

Comments are closed.