Dreaming of sun

San Jose, California

San Jose, California

Dionne Warwick – Do You Know The Way To San Jose

This was my song of the summer but listening to it now is making me dream of sun (helped by the fact that I’m wearing at t-shirt right now that professes that exact same statement!). “Do You Know The Way To San Jose” charted at number 8 in the UK in 1968 and it’s not hard to see why! January can be a very gloomy month, but we can all get through it by dreaming of the sun and holidays in the summer. I’m really looking forward to pulling all of last years summer clothes out of the wardrobe again – Britain being how it is we only enjoy a couple of weeks of weather warm enough to wear shorts and t-shirts in in a year so they can be quite momentous occasions!

I’m particularly hoping to get a lot of wear out of my vintage 80s royal blue playsuit which I mentioned in July in a previous post but never quite got around to putting up a picture of it – hopefully I will this year! I also bought a black and white stripy maxi skirt from H&M last week – and then I wondered why I bothered as it will sit in my wardrobe for a few more months before I will have any hope of wearing it in this country!

Do you know the way to San Jose?
I’ve been away so long. I may go wrong and lose my way.
Do you know the way to San Jose?
I’m going back to find some peace of mind in San Jose.

L.A. is a great big freeway.
Put a hundred down and buy a car.
In a week, maybe two, they’ll make you a star
Weeks turn into years. How quck they pass
And all the stars that never were
Are parking cars and pumping gas

You can really breathe in San Jose
They’ve got a lot of space. There’ll be a place where I can stay
I was born and raised in San Jose
I’m going back to find some peace of mind in San Jose.

Fame and fortune is a magnet.
It can pull you far away from home
With a dream in your heart you’re never alone.
Dreams turn into dust and blow away
And there you are without a friend
You pack your car and ride away

L.A. is a great big freeway.
Put a hundred down and buy a car.
In a week, maybe two, they’ll make you a star
Weeks turn into years. How quck they pass
And all the stars that never were
Are parking cars and pumping gas

I’ve got lots of friends in San Jose
Do you know the way to San Jose?
Can’t wait to get back to San Jose.

Oh to be in California!

