They came bearing gifts…OF COLOUR!

Jill Sander, SS11

Jil Sander, SS11 - What I wouldn't give for this ensemble!

At the request of my very best friend I am writing this post on “colour”. Said best friend remarked and I quote,

“We see all of these colourful collections in magazines and yet no one in Britain is wearing them! Clothes wise we are such a depressed nation!”

Agreed. I haven’t yet seen anything remotely comparable to this seasons collections such as Gucci’s seventies metallic brights or Jil Sander’s ‘pop of colour’ maxi skirts. Clothes don’t always need to be bright, but they don’t always need to be dark and depressing either. It seems to be instinctive that if humans as a race are unsure of what to wear or just generally feeling down that we wear black!

Granted, our weather situation isn’t exactly helpful when deciding on an outfit – with there always being a chance that it could suddenly rain (or snow!) but that doesn’t mean that we should let the side down. Umbrellas anyone?! And whatever happened to colourful outer layers? I’m sure with a bit of thought Marc Jacobs or Christopher Kane could create a bright and enticing waterproof coat that we’d all lust after. SO WHY WON’T ANYONE DESIGN ONE? Well, it beats me.

These are my favourite examples of “designer colour” this season:

Gucci, SS11

Gucci, SS11

Marc Jacobs, SS11

Marc Jacobs, SS11

Celine, SS11

Celine, SS11

Issa, SS11

Issa, SS11

4 thoughts on “They came bearing gifts…OF COLOUR!

  1. I like the color of the Jil Sanders ensemble, but I’m not at all a fan of the maxi skirt. Do you live in the UK? I always thought that Britain had great style…very youngish and just it’s own kind of vibe.

    I love the Marc Jacobs.

  2. Anon – Thank you!

    Sofi – Yes I do live in the UK! I agree that Britain has many very stylish people – it just doesn’t take any notice of what’s going on on the catwalk and does it’s own thing! Yes the Marc Jacobs is so feminine and sassy – but so colourful! that’s why I love it.

    Mademoiselle Tres Belle – Thank you! I’m glad someone agrees with me!

Comments are closed.