The beauty of leather

Re-worked leather bag + vintage scarf

Re-worked leather bag + vintage scarf

Isn’t leather beautiful? Comfortable, good quality, practical and good to look at – it ticks all the boxes for the material of choice for shoes, jackets and bags. There is a particular leather bag that I want to tell you about today which was given to me as a lovely gift a couple of months ago. The bag in question is a mini-satchel style vintage shoulder bag – re-worked from its original shape into the beautiful dark brown leather bag it is now.

Most of my handbags are really quite bulky with big shoulder straps as when pottering around charity shops and buying little bits and bobs it’s easier to put them in my handbag instead of being given an extra little plastic bag. This way I can keep my hands free whilst saving the planet at the same time. However there are times when all I really need is a little bag or when a shoulder bag doesn’t really go with my outfit. This is when my beautiful leather bag comes in handy – just large enough to fit in my phone, keys, purse and lipstick it really is quite chic. Being brown it goes with most colour palettes and my new favourite way of accessorising bags is to tie a bright, silky scarf around the strap to add a bit of colour.

Explore Australia vintage scarf

Explore Australia vintage scarf

The scarf pictured is a huge map of Australia in bright yellow, with a deep turquoise border. Around the edges of the map are featured drawings of the native birds and animals of Australia. I found the scarf whilst rummaging through a huge case of silk scarves at a vintage fair before Christmas and with it being just £3 for two scarves I happily chose this Australian themed one for myself and another for my cousin (I think on hers there were maps of Germany or Austria). The scarf is so colourful that I’ve recently started tying it in a bow in my hair and it always brightens up any outfit. In fact, the only way I haven’t worn it is as a scarf! I suppose it’s because the scarf is a square shape which means the only thing I could do would be to tie it round my neck in a bow at the side. Maybe I’ll experiment with it this week!

Extreme editing shows the detail of the bag

Extreme editing shows the detail of the bag + scarf

One thought on “The beauty of leather

Comments are closed.