Lanvin Love

It may seem rather late for me to write a post on the SS11 collections considering that some people are already reviewing the AW11 collections , but personally I haven’t made the conversion from AW10 to SS11 yet; and to be honest, I’d be worried if anyone in the UK already has considering the weather we’ve been having recently!

This is the very first of my collection reviews for the season and I really think that Alber Elbaz has pulled it out of the bag this season with his designs. His clothes seem to flow so effortlessly and give their wearers a demeanour of such poise and beauty that it is impossible not to covet anything from his SS11 collection.

  1. Lanvin
Lanvin SS11

Lanvin SS11

There is no other way to describe this gorgeous red dress but as ‘swishy’. The entire Lanvin collection is made up of very uplifting and elegant but very feminine pieces. I mean, look at that model – she oozes power, confidence and sophistication. It seems that Alber Elbaz is on a mission to completely re-focus women’s attitude to dressing for the better, and if there’s one word to describe him as a designer then it is determined.

Lanvin SS11

Lanvin SS11

I see this navy blue dress as perhaps the day version of the above floor length red number. I can imagine myself strolling through Paris or Rome in the height of the summer in this number – it is casual enough for everyday wear, but so simple yet so striking that it would make anyone feel like a model whilst wearing it. I like the way it is accessorised here as it isn’t over the top at all. However, I would perhaps wear some white fake ray bans, some white mary janes and a white belt to cinch in the dress, maybe with a little white button up cardigan to cover up with in case it got a bit chilly (being from Britain it is necessary that all clothes can be worn when it is cold/windy/raining/and even occasionally snowing).

Dresses such as these – softly pleated and above the knee – remind me of skater dresses. When I was little I read a book called ‘White Boots’ about a girl learning to ice skate. All the time she was having lessons she yearned for a pair of beautiful white skating boots, and perhaps this is the way I can see this dress being worn in winter – under a white woolly polo with thick white tights and white ice skates whilst skating round an ice rink on Christmas Eve. I wish!

One thought on “Lanvin Love

  1. I loved Lanvin’s collection too! However, this review puts the collection in a whole other perspective! I love the review, because it has personality! I love it!

Comments are closed.