A collection of ramblings + A fresh start

This is rather an unusual post in the way that it isn’t about anything in particular – it’s just a collection of snippets of information. There’s a few things I want to talk about in this post.

  1. I was delighted to find out that I had won Franca’s giveaway over on her blog Oranges and Apples. The giveaway in question was for a print by the Edinburgh designer Kirsty Baynham which you can see here. I will post a photo of it once it is hanging on my wall!
  2. I know that recently activity on the blog has been low and I haven’t written about outfits or shopping adventures or knitting – basically any of the things I love. Recently I’ve been thinking a lot about what direction I want the blog to go forward into. I want to have a plan for the blog so that I feel motivated to write for it – because I do love to write. It’s what I want to do with my future. And if I can’t write for and about myself and my own fashion philosophy then whose can I write about? I don’t have a professional camera with brilliant lenses and loads of different settings and I don’t have access to spectacular locations or perfect weather, but what I do have is a passion for fashion – for clothes, for materials, for designs. I also have a passion for charity shopping, vintage clothes, knitting, listening to music and writing. So I have decided that from now on the blog will centre around these things. There may not always be photos but for me that’s ok – my reason for starting this blog wasn’t for photography purposes, it was because I love to write. So I decided to  write about something that I love – fashion. But to be perfectly honest, my love of fashion is the product of other aspects of my life:
  • The sense of escapism I get wandering around vintage + charity shops for hours on end.
  • My love of knitting + wool which is the reason why half of my wardrobe is made up of woollen items.
  • Music – which is such an important part of my life and can so easily determine my mood for dressing.
  • Books – Reading descriptions of characters and their clothes can inspire me to emulate them in the way I dress. It is the same with film characters.

From now on, it is these subjects which shall be encapsulated in my posts. I don’t think that to be classed as a fashion blogger the blog in question needs to be solely based on fashion, because after all it is:

The Fashion + The Blogger which = A Fashion Blog.

5 thoughts on “A collection of ramblings + A fresh start

  1. That sounds like a good plan! I’ve always taken an eclectic approach to what I write about, so i would definitely recommend not being boxed in by one’s niche.

    also, can’t wait to see the print in action!

  2. Aw I’d be so honored to be linked! I’m so glad you like them 🙂 Check on spoonflower.com – you can practically find any print on there, or create your own!

    And I agree, their smiles make the looks complete!

  3. Do you knit? If so you should post your projects! If not, you should learn! You’d love it.

    I would definitely love to hear your writing (I do anyways, afterall, since that’s why I read your blog). But pictures or no pictures, we want to hear what you have to say! 😀

Comments are closed.