Interesting, insightful and inspiring posts…

First of all, thank you to everyone who commented on my last post – The demise of the local bookshop. It meant so much that people first of all agreed with my points about the need to support independent booksellers if we want them to stay as a part of our society, and second of all enjoyed my writing. I have to say that I enjoyed writing the post so much, in the sense that when I had finished I felt a sense of relief (at getting all that I wanted to down on the page!) and I felt happy. It is the BEST feeling. Don’t worry, I have more writing up my sleeve which I’m itching to get down on the (web) page, but first I wanted to show you a round-up of posts that I’ve found really enjoyable/inspiring/interesting recently. Even  better, you can follow all four bloggers on Twitter (I’ve linked to their Twitter profiles in blue). 

Franca of Oranges and Apples created a Guide to Edinburgh Vintage and Charity Shops – a fantastic idea and which would be really useful for anyone visiting Edinburgh who wants a useful + honest guide. I’ve never actually visited Edinburgh although it is somewhere which I would like to visit, and now I know about all of these places to shop they won’t be able to keep me away! @apple_franca

Roz of Clothes, Cameras and Coffee wrote a post entitled “Simple Pleasures” about the escapism you can nowadays only achieve when you are deep in the countryside, away from civilization and out of phone signal range. She also sparked a blogosphere conversation about the word ‘green’ and all the emotions and characteristics it can symbolise. @ClothesCamerasC

Pearl of Fashion Pearls Of Wisdom was brave enough to bring up the issue of Ethical Vs Fast Fashion in her post “Budget Fashion: Can You Afford To Shop Ethically?” in which she puts across both sides of the argument. For example, Pearl makes the point that some people simply cannot afford to shop anywhere other than places such as Primark and Forever 21 (in the US), especially if they are buying a workwear wardrobe on a very small budget. Judging by the length of the comments which followed this post, it’s fair to say that this is an issue which has struck a chord with many bloggers. @pearlwestwood

Guardian, via Newscast

Rachel of We Are All Magpies is a third year fashion design student and has crafted herself a brilliant pair of citrus fruit printed shorts! Stella McCartney eat your heart out! She also made a graduation dress for a friend of her sisters from scratch! It is based on a wedding gown by J-Crew and she has made it beautifully! You can see her talent for dress design here! @weareallmagpies

11 thoughts on “Interesting, insightful and inspiring posts…

  1. Thank you so much for including me here Alexandra – I also read and commented on Pearl’s post. Took me a very long time to formulate and type out my answer!
    Glad to hear you had such a positive overall response to your last post, and long may it continue. I agree with that writing feeling, where you just need to get everything down onto a piece of paper (or pssibly a word document) because it has to be said.

  2. Thank you for including my post, yes your right I have had some amazing comments that are almost full post of their own. I am actually writing a follow up post because of the feedback and also due to some news about Primark, all very interesting! I haven’t read Rachael’s post so I will have to check it out. Regarding the comments system I change it to pop up at the request of a couple of readers but I have been spammed to death since changing it, so if it doesn’t calm down in a couple of days I will be reverting back. I will be joining you on word press as soon as my new blog is finished so wont have to put up with bloggers crazyness much longer xx

  3. Lovely blog, and great hand-picked recommendations; can tell you’ve really put a lot of thought into this! Going to have a gander now. x

Comments are closed.