Torn

With so many horrific and tragic events having happened so recently (right up to a couple of minutes ago when I found out from Twitter that singer Amy Winehouse was found dead at her home by police after a drug and alcohol overdose) it seems wrong to write a post about materialistic things such as clothes and television. Having just read Roz’s post Light and Dark which I feel sums up how we in the comparatively stable United Kingdom should feel appreciative that we don’t live in a war zone or are threatened with food shortages, I couldn’t let world events pass me by. As Roz said in her post, even though this blog is based predominantly on fashion and my personal style it felt somehow wrong not to voice my thoughts and feelings about events which for many people around the world are life-changing.

However, there is light in the darkness, and as Roz just said when I spoke of how I was torn between writing my original post about my visit to the V&A and my enjoyment of the new BBC Drama The Hour or focusing on the much more serious and important world events that have flooded into existence (for me) via Twitter and BBC News – “I think that we need the pleasantries of life – the hour, and museums – to remind us that there are still good people and places out there”. And I couldn’t agree more. So to sum this post up? Half about what is happening in the world and half about what is happening in my world.

The only occurrence I can compare the News Of The World situation to is one of clearing out your room, which on the surface seems to be a reasonably straightforward task, but on entering into it you find yourself waist deep in clutter and with no immediate way out of it except a long hard slog to sort it all out. Everyone from journalists to David Cameron now seems to be involved in one way or other and the needed space between the media and politicians seems to have been encroached on a little too far than it should have been on both sides.

On one level, phone hacking is a criminal offence, but on another it is a matter of conscience. Are these hackers actually bothered about the consequences for the people who are affected by their actions? Or do they just care too much about their precious headlines rather than the lives and reputations of those they hack? The latter, it seems, is their foremost thought. I just hope that all responsible are punished for their respective actions and that it teaches the media a lesson – that they are not exempt from legal boundaries or even what is socially acceptable. Let’s just say I don’t think we’ll be hearing a definitive conclusion about it any time soon.

But whilst the jury’s still (literally) out on the NOTW scandal, the African famine has most definitely happened and they are most definitely in need of help. They need aid NOW. Food, water, shelter and other basic human necessities. Again, as Roz said, it is difficult to know who to give money to as it is unknown with which charity your donation will be used most effectively and whether or not it is even worth bothering given the state of Governments and their apparent corrupt actions.  And yet whilst the food shortages and mass starvation being suffered by people thousands of miles away seem to make us appreciate the apparent luxuries the western world has to offer, the bombings in Oslo pose the question of whether or not any of us are actually safe, even in our warm, cosy houses in seemingly secure and pleasant communities.

My heart goes out to all of the families and indeed anyone with any connection to the city. It brings back memories of the London 7/7 bombings and even further back the September 11th attack on the World Trade Center. Although the Norwegian horrors of the past 24 hours are on no way the same scale as that of the Twin Towers attack that doesn’t matter. What does matter is that innocent people died. It is inhuman and unjust and it makes me so angry that there are people out there who don’t give a damn about anyone else. Perhaps what’s most shocking was that the attack was unexpected. One minute people in Oslo were happily going about their day to day lives, the next, BOOM. There’s not much more that can be said than that thoughts + prayers are being sent to Norway and that whoever caused these scenes of devastation needs to be brought to account for their murderous actions.

How I should now be able to bridge the gap between the previous 780 words of this post and what will come next is beyond me. Decent television and exciting museum visits can in no way compare to bombings and starvation and they shouldn’t anyway. However, we do  need to have enjoyable things in life that remind us that it isn’t all doom and gloom and above all to keep calm and carry on. For me this has recently been a visit to the V&A where I was lucky enough to catch the Yohji Yamamoto exhibition on its final day (more on that in my next post) and the new BBC drama series The Hour (the British, BBC version of Mad Men – not that I’ve actually got around to watching Mad Men yet but it’s on my to do list). The Hour will be getting its only special post too as long time readers may have noticed my passion for any drama with fantastic costumes.

This leads me onto my delight at the repeats of the present day BBC adaptation Sherlock of which the first episode of three was shown this week – almost exactly a year after it was first screened. Thankfully the BBC are in the process of filming a second three-part series of this brilliant work of television (I urge you to get on iplayer and watch it whilst you’re having your tea tonight) and to see what I mean about the BBC and their costume skills you can read my post from last summer Elementary My Dear. I’ll leave it there before I start off about Benedict Cumberbatch’s coat again…

All in all, I think that in life we all need a balance of both appreciating what we have but enjoying it at the same time. No one can explain this better than Baz Lurhmann in his song of life lessons ‘Everybody’s Free To Wear Sunscreen’ which has me tearful every time I hear it. On a final note, thank you if you have reached the end of this post. This is me, this is what I think and this is what I write. I can’t honestly tell you how much I appreciate you reading my blog.

4 thoughts on “Torn

  1. I’m honoured that you have made reference to my post. Yes, I agree – the word is definitely ‘balance’. Each day will always be divided into light and dark in different measures, according to the season, just as our lives are similarly divided. The balance lies in acknowledging and finding a way of responding to the dark whilst also appreciating the light. We always need to remind ourselves of the good, and also, as Pearl says, the lighthearted.

Comments are closed.