The Unpleasant Truth

I’ve come to the conclusion that there are some places in the world that can evoke such a profound sense of calm and tranquillity that the thought of terror and crime sweeping through a city only a couple of hundred miles away seems absurd and impossible. Yes, I’m talking about the London riots, which at the point of writing this have spread from the awful scenes at Tottenham to Enfield, Hackney, Dalston, Islington, Lewisham, Peckham, Brixton and even Oxford Circus. Wow. I only needed to read the details from this article on The Telegraph’s website to realise just how much of a problem it was all becoming.

Any other weekend of the year I’d have loved to be in London – you only need to read my post of last week to understand that – but right now I am so grateful that I don’t live in the capital. It doesn’t mean I’m not still in a state of disbelief and shock though, especially when people I know are there themselves, as the disturbances seemed to come straight out of the blue onto every news channel, website and newspaper. Glancing across at my copy of today’s I the front page headline reads “Free for all: looters cash in on riots”. How sad. What a terrible picture of Britain it paints – not only to the rest of the world but to the residents of the UK as well.

It seems ironic – in a bitterly disappointing way – that this time last week London was celebrating “One year till the games begin”. If, just twelve months before the Olympics are due to start, a minority of London residents are spending their weekends setting fire to cars and buildings, destroying shops and businesses and looting anything in sight, then surely this raises questions of whether it is a stable environment to hold the biggest and most respected sporting event in the world in? Shouldn’t we concentrate on trying to build a better relationship between the people of London and the Police and make them understand that respect for each other is the key to solving these issues before bringing in thousands, if not millions of tourists who will no doubt infuriate them even more by clogging up the public transport system and making it impossible to get anywhere in the capital in the amount of time it would normally take? I think so.

Oh great. Now I’ve just heard that it’s spread into Birmingham. What is the world coming to? Not only is it a case of these so-called ‘protesters’ not caring two hoots about the people whose homes, property and livelihoods they shatter but what are they actually rioting for? It all seems a bit fishy to me and I’m glad for the constant information feed I’m getting from the likes of BBC news and Twitter. No doubt we haven’t seen or heard the end of it yet but I sincerely hope that the Met have realised that they need to get themselves in gear and control it.

There is a little hope that those involved may be convicted, however, as Blackberry have stated that they will cooperate with all requests from the Police to assist with naming those who used the Blackberry Messaging service to organise the riots. In an article in The Telegraph which gives more information about Blackberry’s assistance, Research In Motion gave this statement: “Similar to other technology providers in the UK we comply with the Regulation of Investigatory Powers Act and co-operate fully with the Home Office and UK police forces.”

Hopefully my next post will be filled with occurrences much less unpleasant.

One thought on “The Unpleasant Truth

  1. It is just very hard to take in isn’t it, I think they need to get the army in and get it stopped as soon as possible, oh wait it might help if the Prime Minister came home!!!

Comments are closed.