København, Danmark

The Marble Church

The Marble Church

Rosenborg Slot Gardens

Rosenborg Slot Gardens

View from the Rundetårn

View from the Rundetårn

The Botanical Garden

The Botanical Garden

The Changing of the Guard, Amalienborg Palace

The Changing of the Guard, Amalienborg Palace

Monument at Christiansborg Palace

Monument at Christiansborg Palace

Public telephone box, city centre

Public telephone box, city centre

The Flag, Kronborg Castle

After a year-long hiatus I have found myself returning to the bare white page of a blank new post. My reason is Copenhagen. I visited in the Autumn; a truly brilliant birthday present I was surprised with only two weeks before I was due to fly out. The city itself is a collision of old and new, where 17th century landmarks jostle for competition next to modern bank buildings. The Copenhagen Opera House (in Danish, the Operaen) is the national opera house of Denmark and one of the most modern in the world, having been completed in October 2004 at a cost of over 500 million US dollars. The Church of St Petri, however, boasts a tower and central nave that date back to the 16th century and is considered to be the oldest preserved building in Copenhagen’s inner city. This architectural collision isn’t unusual – you only need to see a single aerial shot of London to show you that – but it is part of Copenhagen’s irresistible charm. There is a strong sense of history and tradition, not to mention national pride, but it exists harmoniously alongside a modern outlook and a pride in technological and industrial advancement. In my book, any city whose buses provide reliable, free wifi as standard is somewhere worth going. I know I’ll be making a return trip.

